• Loot

  • April 2024
    M T W T F S S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Friend feeder

    Subscribe to me on FriendFeed
  • RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • posts

  • Twitter Counter

  • ClusterMaps

  • Pages

  • Meta

My mindful relationship with ….an app

When I began my journey of meditation more than 15 years ago, it never occurred to me that I would be in a position to choose to fall asleep with the voices of Matthew McConaughey, Harry Styles, or embark on a virtual train journey to Nigeria, Ireland, or the far north. Of course, I am referring to the meditation application Calm, whose sleep stories and poems, narrated by both famous and lesser-known voices, help you drift smoothly into dreamland.

In my previous post, Friend or algorithm, breaking free from algorithmic control, I contemplated the role of technology, especially how algorithms have taken control of our decisions and lives. I don’t want to leave the impression that everything about technology is bad. Hence, I would love to commend the role technology can play in helping us be more mindful, self-compassionate, and kind. We may not directly link the use of technology with mindfulness. After all, being in the present moment often means that we need to put our technological tools aside. But this contradiction is what’s so remarkable about our choice of how and when to use the technology at our disposal.

There are many applications and platforms for meditation and mindfulness out there, but my favorite is Calm, founded by the remarkable Tamara Levitt, who has her own inspiring story of overcoming challenges in her life. She shares these stories through the guided meditations offered on the app.

I have explored other forms of meditation, such as transcendental meditation, and tried other applications, but I found myself returning to religiously follow Tamara’s daily meditations and Jay Shetty’s inspiring 7-minute sessions, which are just gems of wisdom and the best way to start one’s day. So, if there is one habit you can benefit from, without spending a huge sum of money to gain it, is to choose to use technology to transform your day and your life.  

Image created by DALL-E